Review of Regulations

As part of the MGA Review process, all MGA related regulations were reviewed to support a modernized MGA and to ensure alignment with the amendments approved by the legislature in 2015 and 2016. The review has resulted in the creation of several new regulations as well as updates to a number of existing regulations.

We are sharing drafts of the reviewed regulations with all Albertans so they can see the proposed changes and how the approved MGA amendments will be implemented.  Draft regulations will be posted in several groupings. The first group of draft regulations was posted on January 31, 2017 and will remain open for public comment until March 31, 2017.

View the draft regulations and provide feedback on the proposed changes.

If you want to keep up to date on the latest information, sign up for our newsletter.

Continuing the Conversation

The discussions throughout the summer gathered their own momentum and led to thoughtful feedback, questions, and written submissions on other modernizations that could potentially be made beyond the items contemplated in the Modernized Municipal Government Act. This led to the development of a discussion paper, which provides an opportunity to continue our conversation with Albertans about building an even stronger framework for Alberta’s municipalities, and to flag some technical or clarifying changes that may be necessary to improve the Act’s effectiveness.

The feedback on the discussion paper collected from Albertans between November 2016 and January 2017 will be used to inform potential amendments to the MGA for Spring 2017.

Summer 2016 Tour

On May 31, 2016, the Modernized Municipal Government Act was introduced in the legislature. Municipal Affairs traveled to 20 locations across Alberta in June and July to discuss the proposed changes to the MGA through public sessions. A What We Heard document was prepared on the feedback that we received on the Modernized Municipal Government Act.

Previous province-wide conversation (2014)

From the beginning of February 2014 to the end of April 2014, our MGA Review team held face-to-face stakeholder consultations in 11 communities across the province. We also received input through the MGA Review Workbook during January to April, and written submissions during January to June 2014.

What We Heard documents were prepared and include the comments and opinions of participants, and present an overall picture of what we heard from Albertan’s during public consultation between January and June 2014. The What We Heard documents reflect feedback and ideas brought forward through the consultation sessions, workbook, and written submissions.

Key dates

Spring 2016: The government introduced the Modernized Municipal Government Act in the Legislature to propose the final round of amendments to the MGA.

Summer 2016: All Albertans had an opportunity to review the proposed Modernized Municipal Government Act and provide feedback during the summer tour.

Fall 2016: The Legislature will complete debate of the Bill, including any amendments arising from feedback received from Albertan’s. The government introduced a discussion paper on other modernizations that could potentially be made beyond the items contemplated in the MMGA.

The feedback on the discussion paper collected from Albertans between November 2016 and January 2017 will be used to inform potential amendments to the MGA for Spring 2017

Early 2017: Draft regulations will be posted for Albertans to review and provide feedback on. The first grouping of draft regulations have been posted and will be available comment until March 31, 2017.

Fall 2017: All changes to the MGA, including regulations, will be proclaimed before municipal elections in fall 2017.

Stay informed

Sign up for email notifications to hear when new content is added to this website as the MGA Review moves forward.

Questions?

Contact us with the details.